Lone Star Nutrition

So I was at the grocery store last night, buying the vegetables and fruit for my juicing, and in front of me in line was a couple buying prepared fried foods (like a container full of chicken nuggets, a box of chicken, french fries, a bottle of coke. Together they probably weighed 500 lbs. The woman could barely walk her thighs were so big. They paid with a Lone Star card, which for those of you who don’t live in Texas, is a food stamps card. I kept thinking how wonderful it would be if the state would give nutrition classes for people who get Lone Star cards to encourage them to eat healthy. For the amount of money they spent on that junk food they could have bought at least two or three days worth of healthy food. Of course, the liberal in me thinks that we shouldn’t decide for people what they eat, but the human in me hates to see people killing themselves with the food they eat. Even when I am not eating great, I don’t eat like that…anyway, considering the fact that Texas is in a huge financial hole I doubt the nutrition of poor people is on the minds of the state legislators.

One thought on “Lone Star Nutrition

  1. I know it doesn't make it much better, but you actually can't buy hot prepared foods with the Lone Star Card. Cold ones, like potato salad, salads, sandwiches, etc, are fine, but hot ones, like chicken, french fries, stuff from the deli hot bar, etc, you have to pay for yourself. So, the legislators have tried to at least limit that sort of thing. I know what you mean by being saddened by that sort of picture, though. It's hard to tell people to eat vegetables and drink water when food is pretty much the only indulgence they are afforded.

Leave a Reply

