You Can’t Always Go Back

So I’m back in graduate school where I got my undergrad degree and worked two years on a Master’s degree. I’ve been trying to decide whether to get an apartment here in Commerce, or stay in Dallas. There are benefits and drawbacks to both choices. If I stay in Dallas, I will have to find a second job to make enough money to live on, but I get to stay close to all my friends and the great life I’ve built over the last 14 years. If I move to Commerce I can probably make ends meet on what I make at the university and any other writing gigs I get (KERA, etc) but I will be living in Commerce, and all my friends will be in Dallas.

I was driving around Commerce the other day and noticed the old apartment is for rent. It’s even more dumpy now than when I lived there 14 years ago. And the rent is a little higher too. I was paying $250 a month then, now the rent is $350. Although it was tempting (and a little surreal too) to move back into my old life, I realized that there has to be a limit to going back into the past. That I can make the present a hybrid of past and make it what it is today.
Plus quite frankly I don’t want to live in a dump anymore!
Leave a Reply

