Too Long

Yeah, it’s been too long since I’ve posted, but maybe I can make up for that. SOOOO much has happened in the last month. I decided to go back to graduate school and get my PhD, which was the original plan in the mid 90’s when I moved to Dallas from Commerce where I was working on my Master’s degree. I left Commerce in 96 with my 19 year old hostage because things had just become too strange there…I was drinking and doing coke, and it was starting to get in the way of school. Now when I look back on it, I realize that school was just another thing I gave up for one more drink, but it took me 14 years to realize that. After getting my MA at SMU in 2005, I still wasn’t ready to pull the trigger on a PhD program. Only after being laid off from the SBA in January and not being really happy (or that successful) at recruiting, I decided maybe now was the time. My Mom, in her infinite wisdom said, “Well you’re not getting any younger if you’re going to do it you should do it now” Thanks Mom! So I’m back at Texas A&M Commerce, teaching two sections of Research and Argument and feeling both at home and out of my comfort zone if that is at all possible…

Leave a Reply

