Eric’s German Pancake

This is one of the first recipes I ever cooked, back in the 1970’s I think (if you don’t count the Jiffy Cake that I put too much water in and when I started mixing it the batter flew all over the kitchen). My Mom took the magazine Bon Appetit and this recipe was in that magazine. If I remember the story correctly, this really cute curly haired guy named Eric from one of those fabulous sorts of families that are featured in those types of magazines, made this recipe for his accomplished family. I liked the guy, I liked the name of the recipe, and it looked pretty easy to make. I remember being slightly disappointed that my life didn’t magically transform into Eric’s after making the pancake, but it was a good recipe nonetheless.

Eric’s German Pancake
A light, puffy, large pancake baked in a cast iron skillet, sliced into wedges, and served with a dusting of powdered sugar and squeeze of lemon.
6 eggs, well beaten 1 cup milk 1 cup flour ½ tsp coarse salt 2-3 Tbsp Butter to generously coat pan
To Serve: Powdered sugar Lemon wedges
Preheat oven to 450-degrees. Coat bottom and sides of a 10 to 12 inch cast iron pan with a thick layer of butter. Beat together eggs, milk, flour, and salt until well blended, and pout batter into buttered pan. Bake 10 minutes at 450 then turn oven down to 350 and bake 10 minutes more. Remove from oven, cut into wedges and serve immediately with a dusting of powdered sugar and lemon wedges to squeeze over.

Leave a Reply

